Heart Healthy

As I get older, I find myself thinking more and more about the “Importance of Living a Heart Healthy Lifestyle”. What exactly does that mean? To me, I think of changing the way I cook. Using different ingredients from what I have used in the past. This is a daunting task to me. I just don’t know where to begin.

I cook mainly from scratch. I am not a fan of the canned and boxed foods. I feel like if I am going to take the time to cook, I want to own it from start to finish. By doing this, I feel like I am making an effort to be a little healthier but there has to be more I can do.

This month as an Allrecipes Allstar, I have paired up with Mazola Corn Oil for Heart Healthy Mazola. They have conducted a study that shows eating about 1 tbsp.of corn oil daily may reduce the risk of heart disease due to the unsaturated fat content in corn oil. What does this mean for me? I am not sure! I have never cooked with corn oil, so it is pretty foreign to me. Growing up my mom used vegetable oil and nothing else. I have in recent years began using EVOO, thanks to Rachel Ray. But that is as far as my knowledge of oils goes.

I was asked to make a couple of recipes using the Mazola Corn Oil. I have completed one so far. It is the

Sweet and Spicy Salmon with Grapefruit Salsa mazola

Now I did have to change out the salmon as we are a non seafood family. I used chicken instead. The grapefruit reacts with many medications so I swapped that out for mandarin oranges. The end result was a great dish that I would enjoy making again. I guess it would be fitting to also change the name to Sweet and Spicy Chicken with Mandarin Orange Salsa!I believe I kept this dish heart healthy even with my substitutions. I used the Mazola Corn Oil and really could not tell a difference. This means(to me) that I could substitute this into my cooking and no one will be the wiser! Which is something I strive for because if I tell anyone there is something different they automatically assume the worst.

I guess the question for me is if I use all products that are labeled “Heart Healthy”, will this make a difference? I like the idea of that because it would make this transition so much easier on me. But I am afraid that is not the only change I will need to make!

Thank you Mazola for sharing your product with me!

Kelly Goralski's photo.

My next recipe will be the Pork Carnitas with Cilantro Tomatillo Sauce. I can’t wait to try them!

If you would like to learn more about the healthy benefits of cooking with Mazola® , check it out here

For other great recipes from Mazola click here

I am an Allrecipes Allstar brand ambassador (a voluntary position) and I’m not compensated for my work with
Allrecipes.com. Products received from advertiser are only used for experienced-based reviews on It’s all Carrie, all the time. The reviews, content and opinions expressed in this blog are purely the sole opinions of Carrie Caldwell.
To learn more about the Allrecipes Allstars program visit, Allrecipes Allstars 

Leave a Reply

